Rainier Distillers

Home » Essential Oils » Make Lavender Oil

Make Lavender Oil

All these oils on my blog were done with my four inch essential oil STILL.
Above is a video I did of some photographs that were given to me. I did a private party, a demo in Yelm, Washington, and there was a photographer there who took some photos. It was a lovely day. The weather is real nice this time of year. That’s my lavender oil after one run. They had different varieties of Lavender. 2 Varieties, Folgate and Melissa, nine plants.The one in the video is Melissa Lavender. The plants were three years old and plus. I did many runs. I did not get to see all the oil photos, because they had to freeze overnight and drain off the oil. But it was alot. I love these photos that were sent to me. I am posting them here in a video and also to my photo. account. http://www.flickr.com/photos/54396803@N05/
I am open to coming to people’s farms and teaching them locally or even at Lavender Farm events.
I use lavender oil mostly for bug bites my little girl has, like mosquitoes, they instantly make the hives feel better. Its very calming. Its anti bacterial. I am used to the fake lavandin oil sold in stores, a hybrid, all my life. This real lavender, pure uncut, does not smell soapy like detergent. It smells rich and sweet. It is very potent..
My little girl opened the oregano oil by accident and now everything smells like oregano. She loves essential oils. I taught her how to appreciate them and smell everything. She knows aromas.
We have friends that carry Doterra oils and they swear by essential oils. Everything from depression, sleeplessness, and “baby blues” new mothers seem to get. I bought some new books on essential oils with charts on how they work and what they are good for. It would make a great business and from what I see people are making money selling these oils. Aromatherapy is a business kind of like alternative medicine, that says these oils can cure things.
There are alot of scams too, I find, in lots of stores, also about essential oil purity, the rampant dilution. essential oils mixed with other carrier oils, and especially with Lavender. It is hard to find the pure stuff. Thats why its important to “do it yourself”. Most of the notes I smell in essential oil shops, I smell burnt notes and just awful stuff, for sale at 17 dollars a spray bottle. I know now, with my nose, what is a pure oil or hydrosol is.
I see these little bags sprayed with scent sell for 12 dollars each.
You can also flavor food as well as drinks. I bought from a lady back in Australia about 50 oils for cooking. Onion, Garlic, Tumeric, you name it. One drop will do. Its mostly for fragrance. The box they are in smells very savory. People are hesitant to put it in food, because they do not know much about this. But it is easy to learn.
My friend Bonnie puts it in her soaps. She also sells a hydrosol made out of catnip for cats. Imagine that. You spray on stuff your cat will go crazy.
I also work with solvent extraction, but my 4 inch copper still, is basically steam distillation.
A lot of Vodkas are flavored with drops of essential oils. It is easier than infusions.
I also did a video later on, of my distilling essential oils -yesterday in last nights blog. I put it here to fill up some space, instead of in yesterdays entry

1 Comment

  1. Minnie says:

    Hi,I make hand made nail polish and now adding bath and body care. I’m trying to learn as much about essential oils and have one book. Would you mind sharing the essential oil books you’re reading? I know we do different things. But, I enjoy your blog.

    Like

Leave a comment